All grain curious?

I am fairly new to brewing, have brewed 5 extract kits in the past year. A co-worker is just starting to get in to brewing and is going straight to all grain. During a conversation, about the pros and cons to each, I was still left with the following questions:
I realize the ingredients are cheaper than buying extract kits and there is more opportunity to create your own recipes, but at the end of the brew cycle is there a difference in quality/ taste of the final product?

If we were to both brew the same kits (one extract and one all grain) could you tell the difference between the two?

Am I missing something by brewing with extracts? Inspire me to want to be an all grain brewer.

thanks.

It’s the journey that makes the destination so much sweeter

I can’t really attest to the potential difference between extract and AG when it comes to kit beers, as I’ve never made a kit beer. What I can tell you for sure, though, is that taking the step up to AG brewing is really all about taking total control of the processes of mashing and recipe formulation. With extract or partial-mash brewing, you can brew some very good beers, maybe even good enough to rival the quality of an AG brew. But the problem is that you’re severely limited on what kinds of grains you can work with, which means that there are some styles of beer that you’ll never really be able to make; and you never really know exactly what’s in any malt extract. When you brew from scratch, you can be a total control freak. By that I mean that you can work with whatever kind of grain you want, design any kind of recipe you want, and always know exactly what’s in every beer you ever make. So if you have a creative side and you really want to come up with your own recipes or even get experimental with some non-traditional grains in your brewing, AG is the only way to go.