Wine Kits

Hi all… after watching the Brewing Tv episode on wine making it got me thinking about well… making some wine. I started brewing beer vs making wine mostly because I wasn’t to sure about the quality of wine kits. I have been into wine for almost 15 years, collecting, tasting, etc. I was worried that making wine from a kit I would end up with basically something I could get in the store for $5 or $6 (total assumption on my part). I live in a one-bed room apartment so don’t really have the room to go with grapes etc.

So I guess my question is, if made correctly, what kind of quality could I expect from one of the better wine kits? I am looking at just a straight ok table wine (which I consider most, though not all, wine under $10) or maybe something a bit better, with at least some complexity.

Thanks!

IME most of the high end kits produce a very nice quality wine. However, I feel that the kits that include grape skins give it that little extra push.

+1. BB hit it dead on the head. I must admit though that some of my favorite white kits have been quite inexpensive. :cheers:

I have found that white kits tend to be really good and red kits not so much. I have yet to find a red kit that is as good as a finer commercial product, even after significant aging. They all have come out with little body, watery, and just generic tasting.

I’ve had the same experience with kits so far. Looking forward to trying it with some grapes at some point, though.

Good to hear this as I’ve got my first wine kit in secondary currently, did a Shiraz that included grape skins and was one of the more expensive kits. Figured I’d give it a shot with the best wine kit I could find, if it didn’t produce wine I looked forward to drinking I’d at least know it wasn’t the kit’s fault.

Quite a bit more waiting compared to brewing but on the order of doing sour beers so at least I’m familiar with having to be that patient. :cheers:

A little late to the party…but here goes…