Sweet wine

Hi all,
I’m new to wine making, but have just made some apple wine, its been fermenting for approx 4 weeks and now the air lock has stopped bubbling, I tested the wine by taste and its way to sweet also by hydrometer and it reads 0.2 Question is can I just add more yeast to ferment more sugar out or where have I gone wrong :?

It is hard to restart a fermentation that stalls, and to be successful you need to figure out why it stalled. The most common reasons are likely to be the pH is too low, or the nutrient levels are too low, or you used the wrong yeast.

Can you check pH, tell us what the OG was, what yeast you used and what nutrients you added?

to rebuiltcellars

Thanks for you reply, to be honest I don’t know what the PH is or how to check it, but when I started the wine my hydrometer was at 1.9 which said the wine would be around 14% by volume, I just used a standard yeast from my local home brew shop the demijohns have been sat on a heated wine mat until they stopped bubbling so at the moment I’m stuck as to what to do, as the wine is far to sweet to drink

Hope you get this as I’m not sure how to use this forum board yet!

[quote=“rebuiltcellars”]It is hard to restart a fermentation that stalls, and to be successful you need to figure out why it stalled. The most common reasons are likely to be the pH is too low, or the nutrient levels are too low, or you used the wrong yeast.

Can you check pH, tell us what the OG was, what yeast you used and what nutrients you added?[/quote

Sorry I forgot to add I only added A couple of lemons to the mix as I had no yeast nutrient! is that my big mistake?