Sanitizing Bottles?

Hi all. A noob here at the home brewing scene. Well, I have my first batch fermenting in the basement and I have just received my bottles. My question is can I sanitize my bottles in a dishwasher that has a sanitize cycle, or must I dunk all 48 bottles in Star San in a bucket? Again, I am a noob.

I load my dishwasher with all my bottles (putting one bottle on each of the “spikes” of the rack) and run it through a hot water wash with no soap or JetDry. Never had a problem. Plus the dishwasher door makes a great bottling station.

Welcome to brewing and this forum. Lots of great info on here, so take advantage of the search function. :smiley:

Yes, you can run them the rough the dishwasher and just pull them out as you fill them. I personally use a Sanitizer, just dip, shake, dump and put on a bottle tree.

Bottle trees make bottling much more efficient.

Have fun.

Sometimes the search function is a POS. Don’t feel bad about asking a question.

I have also used the dishwasher to sanitize bottles. But you need to plan ahead for it. The time it takes to run the cycle and then cool down. You may also want to clean the trap of the dishwasher, it get a little nasty in there.

The dishwasher also make a good rack to put bottles on if you want to sanitize them in a bucket.

I do the same thing, and plug the jet dry opening with a blob of paper towel.
I use the “sanitize” cycle.

before I put in dishwasher, I give them all a good rinse.

and plan ahead, they need to cool awhile.

It can be a post, haha. And yes ask questions. I just like to dig around on here with the search thingy.

I will chime in also about the dishwasher. Load it up with as many bottles as I will need plus some extra just in case. let the washer cycle with no soap or detergent added, let them cool and voila, sanitized ready to use bottles.

Done this at least a dozen times and yet to have an issue.

• 1 to cleaning that greasy trap.