Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Plate chiller

I’ve been using the same old immersion chiller for about 16 years now and it’s finally just so bent up and nasty that I think I’ll replace it. The question is whether to buy a new immersion chiller, a counter flo chiller, or a plate chiller. I really like the simplicity of a immersion chiller but the plate type really appeals to me too. Do any of you guys have the Shirron? How do you like it. It seems like a lot of bang for the buck. :?

I used both of those plate chillers plus the counter flow chiller and went back to an IC by a new one.

Thanks Chuck. That’s sort of my thinking too. Here in Maine, if it’s not july or august my well water is icee cold so an IC really works pretty well. What were your issues with the other types?

I had been using an IC since I started brewing (couple years now) and just recently picked up a plate chiller (therminator). Biggest thing for me is how fast I can cool, pretty big time saver on 10 or 15 gallon batches. I was concerned with the extra effort it’d take to clean but back flushing and soaking it in some star san doesn’t take much time at all. Also quick connects make fast work of hooking it up. Hasn’t changed my beer at all and it does require that I keep hops from getting sucked in to it but I’m pleased with the time saved.

I like the plate chiller. It was the first thing I used for all grain brewing and recently used a immersion chiller for the first time. The first thing that struck me was how long it took and how much more water it used compared to the plate chiller. It seemed kind of wasteful for a hobby that already uses a lot of water. Plate chiller is easy, quick and small making for easy storage.