pH and BIAB

So I’ve been doing too much research and reading about the mash and pH… I am curious as to those of you doing the BIAB and watching your pH… Do you have an understanding of how much the grist can lower your mash (knowing darker malts amplify it) so you pre have a prescribed acid addition? everybody has a different water make up so it will vary… I was just looking for the basic idea… Sneezles61

I use Bru’n water to get the grain to water ratio for the pH I want when mashing. I use 10% phosphoric acid to adjust the pH of the sparge water. So far it seems to work with the small amounts of grain in a partial mash recipe.

I too use brunwater…adjust with lactic acid premash.

I’ve been doing that, adding lactic acid too for a few years, and I have been doing that rather blindly… I now have my water test back and I always thought my meter was wrong… 8.1 pH… Wow… So my question is, Do you know what your base water pH is? Then, after adding what ever form of acid, what you pH has changed too? Then lastly, how much more does your grain bill change it? I know to expect a bit more reduction from darker malts… I just can’t get bru’n water on my Mac… I went to the App Store and they have some crazy BS there, but not what I need… I am thinking I will have to get another PC that works with Microsoft … You all know how this stuff beats me up… Damn… Sneezles61

What spreadsheet software are you using? Try using LibreOffice; that is what I use on an old Ubuntu machine, and can run Bru’n water just fine.

Ah say what machine? I’m not even smart enough to know what a spreadsheet soft butter spread I’m using…:disappointed: Sneezles61

Office 365 Personal runs on recent versions of Mac OS (and OS X).

It’s not free, and I don’t know what your spare time is worth to you, but it is an option.

1 Like

Thanks, I will have to look into this… Sneezles61