Outside temperature affect on Mash Tun

Hi,

I am new to all-grain and am about to brew up my first batch within the next week or two. I have been doing a ton of research on forums, books and other reading materials and am pretty excited to start my first batch.

My question is about maintaining a mash temp if I am brewing outside in 40º weather.

I plan on doing a single infusion mash in my homemade 10G rubbermaid mash tun. I am also going to warm up the cooler first, with very hot water for 10-20 minutes before adding my strike water and grain.

How many degrees should I plan on losing per hour while mashing in the cold weather? Is there anything you guys would recommend I do to maintain a consistent temp?

Thank you!!

I brewed two weeks ago when it was 40F & raining. My mash temp went from 153F to 151F in 90 minutes with the mash tun just sitting in my garage on a folding table. I would think you will be fine not doing much of anything. You could wrap the cooler in a sleeping bag if you are real worried though.

In a cooler you should be just fine.

I brewed a few weeks ago - 8*C. I use a stainless kettle to mash. Draped a sleeping bag over for 1 hour mash time. Did not really lose any temp in that time.

I doubt you would even need the sleeping bag, but as pointed out by GeerBoggles, you could always use one if you are worried. Certainly can’t hurt it none.

Just keep it out of the wind and you will hold temp well with a cooler, but I have wrapped it in a blanket when it is extremely cold…but don’t sweat it, you’ll be fine. Hit your mash temp and keep it closed for the whole mash time, because you lose heat opening it up.

You can also use some 1 1/2" blue foam insulation. The closed cell, rigid kind and cut it to fit inside your cooler. Then press it down just above your wort and it will help maintain the heat.