Number of batches and bragging rights

I find it amusing when someone tries to qualify their statements by counting the number of batches they do… “I have X number of batches and I have never experienced Y.”

Good for you?

[quote=“powerball”]I find it amusing when someone tries to qualify their statements by counting the number of batches they do… “I have X number of batches and I have never experienced Y.”

Good for you?[/quote]
I have about 30 batches, and have never experienced a need to troll more experienced brewers.

I would concur. Often I find myself listening to Denny and others with 400+ brews. I call it experience. Powerball must just call it narcissism.

1 Like

After brewing thousands of gallons of beer, I can easily tell when a poster is just bragging versus stating experience to give weight to an argument.

Yep, there’s a big difference between bragging and stating experience. But if I told you I’m an expert at brewing mediocre beer, you might be somewhat amused. LOL

[quote=“powerball”]I find it amusing when someone tries to qualify their statements by counting the number of batches they do… “I have X number of batches and I have never experienced Y.”

Good for you?[/quote]

How else are we determine the relative strength of a statement?

Post count?

I would think that several hundred batches and/or several thousand gallons of beer brewed would imply very significant experience. I would also think that any such brewer would have either gotten pretty damn good at it, or probably would have quit the hobby quite a while ago…

That said, I tend to pay close attention to these sort of credentials. These guys definitely know more about brewing than I do, and their knowledge is much appreciated…

I haven’t been keeping track of how many I have brewed but figure if someone is trying to be helpful we can take the bragging with a grain of salt.