New Member / Cara-Pils question

Hi all,

Just wanted to start out saying hey to everyone. I also want to throw a thank you out to many of you who have helped me learn to brew better beers as I have browsed this forum as a non-member for the past 4+ years. I look forward to being a member now as I feel I have some experience that I can build upon and share with others. I do have to admit that in the past few years of brewing my focus has been on refining my processes and building a garage full of homemade brewing equipment :slight_smile: so please forgive my newbie question…

My question is if anyone has ever brewed with cara-pils as a base malt. If you have or know the grain better than I do, what could I expect if I was to try. I typically build my recipes with a 2-row or Pilsen base but as you may have guessed by now I may have added 12lbs to my recent grain order instead of the 12oz that were prescribed. At first I was pretty excited then looked at the labels and realized i had just turned my brew house into an adjunct grain warehouse (and yes my brew house/corner is that small)!

Anyways thanks for any input!

Cliff

Ps. Any Denver brewers linger in these parts? I’m new to the Denver metro and wouldn’t mind meeting up for a pint and some local home brew supply store/local brewery insight!

Crystal malt is not fermentable enough and it doesn’t contain enzymes for converting sugars, so if you tried to brew with 12 lbs of cara-pils and a lb of 2-row (basically reversing the normal ratios), you’d end up with a sickly-sweet, almost non-alcoholic beer.

Welcome to (posting to) the forum! :cheers:

Welcome. Cara-pils is a dextrin malt for adding body to a beer, not fermentables. 1-5% is about all you want.

^^ What Shadetree said

Sorry to hear that because that is an awful lot of cara-pils. Try to find other local brewers and do a straight up trade, I’m sure some people would toss you a pound of that for a pound of something else.