Minneapolis Water for brewing?

I’ve got a question or three… I know a lot of you live in and around Minneapolis. I just started brewing AG a few weeks ago (1 botched batch under my belt), and I’m tired of buying RO water at the store to brew with. I’ve got a buddy that lives in NE Mpls, and I’ve heard that Mpls water is good for brewing. I figured I’d stop by his house and fill up water jugs and save some $$ (off of a non-softened spigot, of course)

So on to the question part…

1. Is it true? Is it good for brewing?
  2. If so, what additions do you have or suggest for brewing pale ales/IPAs? or any other style for that matter? CaCl, gypsum, etc.
  3. What color is blue?

Yeah from what I gather our water here is pretty good for brewing. I haven’t really got into water chemistry, mostly because I don’t think I need to, and I think that unless you are trying to recreate a historical style like a specific English Bitter or something like Guinness where the water affects the end product you shouldn’t mess with it. That is unless you don’t have good water available and you have to become a mini home chemist.

I’ll have to fill up some Better Bottles at my buddy’s house then and not worry :slight_smile:

I’ve got well water at my place that is stinky high in iron unless it’s super softened.

Nordeast Love :cheers:

I’ve been brewing for about 30 years. Started as a senior in high school (back when 18 was legal). The three biggest improvements to my beer, were in order:

1. Going all grain
  2. Temperature control
  3. Water adjustments