Mashing Rice

I’ve had some requests to do some lagers from the BMC posers I know. Due to my endless curiosity, I want to mash with some rice, but not necessarily use rice syrup. Any advice you guys could give me would be a step in the direction I wish to go.

P.S. I’ve been all-graining for a couple years now and experimenting with different techniques (single infusion, step infusion, decoction and such), and I’m pretty comfy with my set-up. BUT I haven’t used rice before. I really want to try it out.

I just recently used rice for the first time in a cream ale. I boiled the rice on the stove top as usual then added additional boiling water a few times, letting the rice absorb it all. I added it to the mash after I stirred in the grain. No problems with stuck mash or sparge.

For small amounts of rice just cook like normal and add to mash.
For larger amount you want to do a cereal mash which is just a mini step mash with 50/50 rice/malt.

Oh I did forget the important part of the cereal mash. Boil for 15- 20 mins.

You should also mill the rice for better efficiency.

Minute Rice can be added to the mash without boiling as it is already gelatinized.

I made rice per the direction. When finished I continued to add water to the pot, keeping the level just above the grains. Before going to bed I added an extra inch or two.

The next morning I added some water if it needed it and heated it while the mash water was heating. Dumped the whole pot into the MT after adding the barley.

At the end of the mash you could not tell there was any rice in the mix. It all dissolved. I didn’t mill it or do any cereal mash. OG was in line with BeerTools.

edit: All water additions after the normal cooking time (20 minutes) are done with the rice off of the heat. Apply heat to bring up to mashing temp before adding to the grain.