Lager affectionados

Percolating my first lager now a maibock. I’m planning on repitching the cake for another lager before my basement warms up to ale temp. What are some of your favorites and why. Also I am using s34/70, you think it would make a nice pilsner?

I made a German Pils with 34/70 late last summer and it was very good. Nice clean profile.

I’m new to lagers but so far have brewed marzen/Ofest, Munich Dunkel (rebuiltcellars’ recipe), Vienna (Mattnaik’s recipe) and Czech Pils. All have been excellent with the exception of the pils which was good but needs more bittering hops next time around.

Aboslutely LOVE the Dunkel - all about the malt but really smooth and well balanced, the marzen turned out really good too - malty with just enough spice from hops to balance it out, and Matt’s Vienna is awesome - light enough for a really good spring/summer beer for malty beer lovers. All 3 of those recipes are posted in threads around here if you want to check them out.

I do like a bitter pils. :lol: Going to start designing a recipe, any advice?

Jamil’s recipe in BCS for German Pils is a good bitter pils. Comes in around 36 IBU

11lbs of Pilsner malt (or to 1.048 post boil based on your efficiency).

1oz Perle at 60
0.5oz hallertau at 15
0.5oz hallertau at 1

use WLP830 or 34/70.

Very simple and tasty recipe

I started my first true lagers this winter with 34/70, started with a german Pils, then a dunkel, and now have a marzen in primary. Won’t be bottling the Pils for a couple more weeks, but the color sure is purty! Can’t wait to try these.

I think a pils recipe should be simple. I will change the hops to german magnum and Saaz though since that’s what I have in the freezer

Should work out great. Let us know how it tastes if you decide to brew it.