I'm getting very light-bodied beers

I’m still pretty new at this, only on my third batch. The first was the Block Party Amber Ale that came with my starter kit. Two weeks in the fermenter then two weeks bottle conditioning and I was quite happy with the results. I wasn’t fond of fighting the lid of the fermenting bucket, so I picked up a 6.5 and a 5 gallon carboy. My next two attempts were Irish Red and Dunkelweizen extracts. Same process as the Block Party, only after two weeks in the 6.5 carboy, I transferred to the 5 gallon for two weeks. I figured the main benefit of using a secondary would be less sediment to deal with when bottling. While the flavor was there, both batches were extremely light bodied. I quizzed a local brewer who said I might be fermenting too long. That seemed to contradict the “longer is better” philosophy espoused here, but his reasoning was that it’s best to stop fermenting once you’ve hit your desired/expected FG. Admittedly, I haven’t been very good about taking gravity readings at this point, I’m just following the recipe. But I’ve never had the impression that I should have a specific FG in mind beforehand. What I’ve read here says I should take regular readings towards the end of fermentation, and when the reading stays steady, it’s pretty much done. Sorry for being so long winded, but any thoughts on where I’m going wrong?

Without gravity readings, it will be hard to pinpoint where in the process to make improvements.

Does the beer seem over carbonated?

Not really. Are you referring to taste or head when poured?

Without taking a gravity reading you can’t really know when the beer is done so leaaving it longer is a good way to make sure the yeast finishes up. Within reason, longer IS better.

Yeast will reach terminal gravity on the beer in it’s own time depending on how much fermentable sugar is in the wort. Leaving it for a longer period of time WILL NOT cause the beer to “over ferment”. That just won’t happen.