I'm a Biere de Garde newbie

Gang: On another board, we’re talking about this style. I picked up some hops that were new to me (Hallertau Select, Hallertau Opal, Brewer’s Gold, French Strisselspalt) and some people mentioned making a Biere de Garde. I have mentioned that I am not a fan of Belgian beers but I have been told that this style does not have that complex, spicy, funky, phenolic, bubble-gummy, barnyard-like thing going on. I did some research on the style and read some very interesting articles (including THIS
http://allaboutbeer.com/article/bieres-de-garde-frances-road-less-traveled/
one) and came up with a recipe that is a little lower in OG than a typical Biere de Garde. It seems to be a pretty open style so it seems like anything goes. Also, in May & June, White Labs releases their WLP072 French Ale which is supposed to be very good for this style and is still clean, low esters, etc. Can anyone give me any direction or poke holes in this recipe?

[b]Biere de Garde

7 lbs Rahr Pale Ale malt
2 lbs Best Malz Munich 10L
8 ounces Belgian CaraMunich 45L
8 ounces Brown Sugar
1 oz Brewers Gold pellets 5.9% for 60
1 oz French Strisselspalt pellets 2.8% for 1
White Labs 011 Euro Ale yeast

OG: 1.056, FG: 1.014, IBU: 25, SRM: 9, ABV: 5.4%
[/b]

I would mash on the low side (149-ish) to get the dryness required for the style and the brown sugar is there for a bit of flavor but also for the dryness. The WLP011 is supposed to be clean but ‘different’. Thoughts?

I’m no expert, but will chime in with my 2 cents anyway. I’d suggest looking into the belgian candy syrup instead of brown sugar. Perhaps they are the same thing one liquid one granules, but my limited experience says go with the belgian syrup for a cleaner finish.