I Tried Skipping The Mashout For A Day

I’ve been brewing for roughly 10 years now. The instructions I learned from included a mashout, so I’ve always performed one. I know many people believe the benefits of a mashout aren’t worth the trouble, but I’ve never had a good reason to stop…until now. On Saturday, I had planned my first double brew session - 2 batches more or less back to back. In order to save some time, I decided I might as well try cutting out the mashout.

Well, that plan backfired. I ended up with two stuck sparges that wasted a lot more time than if I had just performed mashouts in the first place. I hadn’t experienced a stuck sparge before, and I hope never to do so again. I’m going back to performing a mashout every time.

On Saturday, I also thought long and hard about skipping my mashout…ultimately, I couldn’t convince myself to skip it.

Mashout is largely a function for fly spargers. Reportedly it’s not essential for batch spargers. I fly, what about you guys?

I’m a batch sparger. I suppose I should have mentioned that in my initial post.

Fly sparger here. I’ve tried batch, and no sparge, and just can’t convince myself to convert (pun intended). :sunglasses:

1 Like

On that note: I have known fly spargers that skip mashout, and simply run their sparge water as hot as they can (180ish) without any noticeable affects other than efficiency. They were probably around 70-75%, and I"m dialed in to 81% with my current process.

1 Like

My last days of fly sparging, I had stuck mashes! I didn’t like them either. But that was doing a 10 gallon in the round water cooler… stuck stuck stuck… yuck! BIAB is just a dream for me… If you look at a video that shows Martin B. talking, he said its Bull…poop to mashing with hot water and getting tannins and astringency! I guess I never tried that high of mash out… but I will rinse my basket with, sometimes, quite hot water! No ill effects that I could tell. Sneezles61