Hops in a Muslim bag?

I’m new to this and the first kit I brewed the local brew shop gave me muslim bags for the hops. The second batch I brewed was a Sierra clone and I was given one bag that I used for the bitter and just threw in the finish and I’ve yet to add the dry hops. Do I need a bag for these or just throw them in the fermenter?

Muslim and muslin are very, very different things :slight_smile:

We just bought a 10 pack of muslin bags because our hop bag ripped and we need one for our plate chiller. They didn’t work great…They hauled out a little bit of hop material but definitely not all of it. If you’re not using a chiller like this I’d just say toss them in there without the bag. We did it for years. When you rack off your yeastcake either for a secondary or for bottling just leave behind a bit of liquid so you don’t suck them up.

I have never brewed a kit before so I don’t know what comes in them. I assume your one muslin bag that came with your last kit was for your dry hopping, Dry hopping is usually done in a bag so you don’t have to knock out the ton hop bits floating in it with a fining agent, although I fine anyway as there are always some hop bits even with the bag. Don’t kits come with instructions? I would think they would!

I can’t stop laughing…

I think my next beer will be called “Infidels Ale” or “Jihad Juice”

I’ll intentionally over-carb the beer I bottle too.
…Only time bottle bombs will be acceptable.

I am pretty sure you can have as many “Muslim Bags” as you want as well. Don’t forget to bottle that in 220z “Bombers”.

[quote=“Birdstop”]I am pretty sure you can have as many “Muslim Bags” as you want as well. Don’t forget to bottle that in 220z “Bombers”.[/quote][quote=“dbarton02”]I can’t stop laughing…

…Only time bottle bombs will be acceptable.[/quote]

Not funny guys. Ignorant, yes…funny, not so much.

cheers.