High OG's What gives

Ok here is the set up.

I have traditionally hit and usually very slightly exceed the expected OG (one or maybe two points). I had been using my blender for grain “processing” (I won’t start the argument as to whether this is crushing the grain :wink: . I found a corona mill for VERY cheap and it grinds grain like a champ. I had honestly expected to see a drop in my OGs as the corona simply does not pulverize as much of the grain as a blender does. Instead I have a interesting jump in my OGs. Cream ale (expected - 1036, actual - 1040), Sierra madre PA (expected - 1048, actual - 1054), and the wower Extra PA (expected - 1037, actual - 1050). I have checked the calibration on my (both) Hydrometers (heck I am a chemist, I did think of that). I am at a loss to explain my elevated OGs. I cracked the 1st cream ale saturday. It is fine if a tad dryer (again unexpected) than the only other batch of cream ale I have brewed (it was blendered).

I am kinda in a WTF mode. I suppose I can just accept that my effeceincies are high and not wonder why … but … did I mention I am a chemist? It is bugging the crap out of me as to why? I know I can just cut my grain bill slightly if I want to correct but I would like to know what I am correcting for.

The only thing I can think of that would have had any infuence on the OG was that I did add 3% Acid malt as I built the water up from RO water. But I don’t see a 3% malt addition bumping the OG up like I have seen.

Any suppositions or solutions welcome.

Barry

Using a blender chops the grain and doesn’t crush it. Your grain is actually being crushed, which is allowing more water to soak in and converting the starches better.

What are your efficiencies now compared to before?

I only have half a dozen batches under my belt since switching to AG, but typically exceed anticipated OGs as well. I consider it a good thing. I get to choose between a stronger beer, or more beer, or a compromise between both.