first timer

Hello all.
I have been brewing beer for about four years and now I am trying to get into winemaking. Any suggestions for my first kit?

Red or White?

Red

Some more questions:

Is price a concern? Best payout comes from highest end kits. Can get something reasonable for less, but I usually recommend highest quality possible.

Which brands do you have available? In Canada we have way more options available, but from what I have read there are quality kits available down south - Winex and Cellar Craft (Vineco). Stay away from kits found at Costco / Wallmart etc.

How long are you willing to put into aging?

What are your preferences?
Body?
How tannic?
How much oaking to you like?
Flavor profile? - Red Fruit, Black fruit, Blue fruit etc?
Fruit forward /Earthy?
(don’t have to have a straight answer for all of these)

Sipping wine?

Table Wine:
Spaghetti / Pizza wine?
Red Meat?
All purpose?

What commercial wines have you tended to buy and enjoy the most? Be as specific as you like.

Again, don’t have to answer all of these questions. More info=best suggestion for you.

My ultimate favorite kit wine is Cellar Craft’s Rosso Fortissimo (showcase series). Only issue with this one is it really needs time. Absolute 1 year minimum aging. 2 years to really get you money’s worth. Will go to the end of time if you let it.

The new Winex Eclipse series has been getting pretty great feedback, and is designed to show very well at a young age (though also should have great longevity.) Pay a higher price tag for these though.

For my taste Cellar Craft has been a little hit and miss as far as the varietals go. But I have found in general the kits I did like blew winexpert out of the water. Sounds like the Eclipse may have leveled the playing field a bit though. I find winex to be a bit more consistent throughout their entire collection as a whole.