False Bottom for Keggle

What are the better false bottom kits for converting a keggle? I heard some don’t hold together and some have issues with grain passing the screen and then clogging it. I just want something that works flawlessly and cleans easy.

NB sells a good one #7588. I’ve been using the Sabco offering for about 7 years now and they work well too, just twice the price but a bit larger diameter coverage. You’ll get some grain going through virtually all of them from the sides, seams, or just the smaller bits through the holes, but once the filter bed is set up that is no longer a real issue. The only poor performers are the plastic ones.

I have heard that the domed type FB doesn’t work well because they move around. I bought a 16 ga SS hinged FB about 3 years ago from a vender on HomeBrewTalk.com. The one I bought is a hinged 15 inches with a hole drilled in the middle for the dip tube, it fits in the bottom of the keg perfectly. The 16 ga. is more hefty than the common 18 ga and holds large grain bills well. I am very pleased and have not had any problems.[ not affiliated with vender]

http://www.fyurl.com/rr.php?c=2&site=ww ... utions.com

I like the full-width 15" diameter ones. They can’t move around, and I can heat the wort below the screen and recirculate it to raise the mash temperature without scorching the grain.

yep, with the full-width models, and if you have a direct heat source, no part of the grain bed hits the directly-heated areas of the keggle. Good for the direct-heat guys.

I found the one from norcal brewing to be very functional and reasonably priced. It covers the entire bottom. The one I bought from NB is now in the scrap pile.

So the jaybird false bottoms are a good price? I was blown back by the price at first, but then again it is amazing how much a lot of things cost in this hobby. This is the particular item i was looking at, was planning on adding a hinge and contemplating the handle.