Degassing and Carboy

Greetings, I’m a noob to wine making, strictly beer until now.

I’ve just degassed and added the stabilizer and clearing agents using the whip. Kept it up for a good 20 minutes or so and went thru a couple batteries on my drill. Anyway I have access to vacuum pumps at work that we use when we evacuate refrigeration circuits when we repair them.
If I were to use a vacuum pump instead of the whip would the carboy be able to withstand the vacuum without imploding? These pumps have the ability to pull down to 400 microns.
Also would I degas before or after adding the clearing/stabilizers?

Thanks,

Bruce

glass carboy most likely - better bottles NO!

If you’re going to let it sit under a vacuum, 5 - 7 inches should be sufficient I would think.

Negative pressure is negative pressure, and I wouldn’t stress the carboy too much!

Glass should be fine.

Degass before adding everything. The fining in particular works best in still wine.

Warming before attempting to degas will make the task a lot easier.

Is there no chance of cracking with a vacuum?

I had 2 glass carboys and did vacuum degassing for a few months. Usually up to 20 inches but highest pressure was around 23 in. But then I started to notice a crack at the bottom of each carboy. It’s possible these were unrelated to the vacuum. I felt that I was careful handling them though. I decide to toss them and switch to better bottle. I didn’t want to risk a wine spill.

I also had a 1 gallon jug that definitely cracked from the vacuum. I was pumping my brake bleeder, heard a crack, and saw a little chip in the shoulder.

There would be some danger of breaking the glass if the preasure is way too high, but I’m not sure exactly what preasure that would be. I know the combination of thickness of the glass and the stabilizing force of the liquid inside would make it pretty solid though. I certainly would not try adding the vacuum to an empty carboy.