Co2 cylinder question?

im new to the homebrewing scene so sorry for the possibly stupid question in advance. i have two brews going at the moment; a rye ale and an irsih red. havent bottled anything and am not set up for kegging at all, but im thinking kegging could be so much easier, better, quicker etc as compared to bottling. i am a part of a 2 man mobile welding outfit, and i have several C02 cylinders at home all the time. my question is this; is there a food grade c02 used for kegging? or is it just your run of the mill c02 cylinder? i worked at a fast food place when i was a kid and im pretty sure they had just a common c02 cylinder for the soda machine…

Pretty sure there is only one kind of Co2. I trade my tanks in at a place the primarily supplies welding and construction activities.

i thought so, thanks dude.

:twisted: I bought mine from Airgas, the only difference was the size.

Several people, including myself, have our co2 tanks filled at fire extinguisher shops.

co2 is co2.

I’m building a 4-5 tap keezer, what is the best size of CO2 tank?

Are you planning to put the tank inside or outside. I have a kegerator that hold 4 kegs and I have a 20 lb tank outside that has been in continuous use since I started using it in April or May. I have not had to refill it yet, but I confess that I have two 5 lb tanks that I use for the heavy lifting of force carbonating a lot of my beers before they hit the kegerator. I have refilled them a few times.

Get the biggest one that you can fit.

[quote=“Nighthawk”]Several people, including myself, have our co2 tanks filled at fire extinguisher shops.

co2 is co2.[/quote]

thats the answer i was looking for.

my thoughts exactly. now just finding room for a spare refrigerator…

+1 I have both 5lb and 20lb tanks and gotta love the 20lb tanks.