Charcoal or wood pellet

Maybe you guys can help me out with a decision that has been tearing me apart lately…

I have a Chargriller charcoal grill / smoker (the side box style) that has served me well over the years, but I’m afraid it has finally succumbed to the elements. I grilled a lot of food, and smoked a lot of meats on this thing, and am now ready to upgrade to something with a bit more automated control so I don’t have to babysit my BBQ all day long.

I’ve narrowed my selection down to a couple options: A charcoal grill with a gravity feed hopper that claims to have temperature control via forced air fans & augers (like wood pellet grills), and I’ve found a wood pellet grill that seems to check all the feature boxes as well. Both have fancy wi-fi capabilities that I’m not sure I’ll really use, but we’ll see (I probably will).

Now, I have no experience with wood pellet grills, and plenty of experience with charcoal. I’m not worried about not being able to sear a steak, because both models I’m looking at are capable of such things. Propane and electric aren’t my style for this particular appliance.

So, whatcha think?

• Charcoal
  • Wood Pellet

0 voters

Charcoal is what I use… I have a gas gill for the quick cooking of burgers and such (I will not cook burgers in the house). Maybe wood pellets would become more abundant in the future…? I don’t mind tending my Weber kettle…I need to find a different thermometer for monitoring the grill temp…
Sneezles61

I didn’t used to mind tending to the smoker, but adding coals every hour or two for 8 hours gets a little old after a while.

I cook a big brisket in mine and have to recharge after 4 hours…but that’s easy enough in the chimney briquette starter gizmo… But then I’m a left handed scandahoovian too! :beers: :mask:
Sneezles61

1 Like

Yep, the chimney starters are definitely a handy tool!

1 Like