Caramel Malt Experiment

Ever since I started brewing, I’ve wondered what a batch of beer would taste like if I used only caramel malt. After being told that I’d probably die of sugar shock, I decided against making a batch. But questions like “What would it taste like?” and “Would there be fermentable sugars?” still bugged me.

Well I decided it was time to do a little experiment. I ground up 1 lb of Caramel 40L and steeped it in 155F water for 20 mins. I then strained it out and dumped more hot water over the gains, to yield 1.6L (~.4 gals) of “wort”. I then put this liquid, along with some yeast nutrient, into a flask and boiled it as if I were preparing a starter. This measured in a 1.026 OG, was VERY cloudy, and had, what appeared to be, tons of dextrin type material suspended in it. So much dextrin like material that it coated the pan that I mashed in as well as the flask. Upon tasting this “wort” it was very mildly sweet and (unsurprisingly) very similar to the flavor that you get if you were to chew a few C40 grains for a long time, minus the husk flavor.

I then crash cooled it and put it on a stir plate with a healthy dose of bread yeast.

Two days later I turned off the stir plate, let any suspended particles settle out for an hour or so, and took a gravity reading. 1.017 FG. Which is ~28% real attenuation, I believe. The taste is somewhat similar to pre-fermentation, although nearly all sweetness has vanished. It’s also faintly sour and not particularly pleasant tasting (as any constantly aerated starter made with bread yeast would most likely be).