Can't wait a whole year!

I’ve been brewing beer for several years, but made my first wine today from a juice kit (Grenache/Shiraz/Mourvèdre blend with skins).
It was a lot easier than I had feared - now to tend it until bottling - and wait 1 year!

I was thinking of getting another batch going with a quicker ready time. There is a grape and fresh juice peddler in town. I like reds - any suggestion?

[quote=“harpdog”]I’ve been brewing beer for several years, but made my first wine today from a juice kit (Grenache/Shiraz/Mourvèdre blend with skins).
It was a lot easier than I had feared - now to tend it until bottling - and wait 1 year!

I was thinking of getting another batch going with a quicker ready time. There is a grape and fresh juice peddler in town. I like reds - any suggestion?[/quote]

Is this the new World Vineyard GSM kit you are referring to or something else?

Yes, that’s the one

I’m far from an expert and just started making some wine kits on the side last year. From what I’ve been able to tell from watching interviews with the Wine Expert guys (available from NB on YouTube) and poking around the interwebs is that the higher end kits like what you’ve made need to sit a long time to reach their peak. The cheaper kits are the ones that’ll be ready quicker, they’ll never reach the peak that the high end kits will but they’ll be ready to drink earlier.

What a friend and I have done is make a pile of the high end kits (8 of them) to tuck away and bottle age for 2-5 years and then done a bunch of the blends to have something to drink in the nearer term (Mezza Luna, Luna Rossa, etc). In my limited experience with the few kits I made last year time really does make a big difference. Even the 1 white I did, a piesporter, improved dramatically between 9 months and a year.

Wine makes my lambics feel like quick turn beers. :lol: