Can I Really "Brew Beer Better Than I Can Buy"?

I’ve been homebrewing for close to five years now. Ever since I started I heard this “myth” that I can “Brew beer that is better than I can buy” – or something along those lines. I’m sure many have heard it.

I have yet to reach this point. I would 10x rather have THE BEST commercial beer I can purchase, such as a Founders, Rodenbach, or Russian River. I haven’t yet brewed beers that well. I don’t feel it’s because of homebrewing’s limitations, I feel it’s because I haven’t perfected my craft as well as these professionals.

That’s the heart of the myth, I suppose. The myth is really saying that a homebrewer can brew better beer than a professional. Is there any truth to this or is it a relic of generation’s past?

Can you? I think the right answer is “maybe.”

I know many of my beers are better than their commercial counterparts…just ask me. :wink:

I’m not a fan of ‘yellow’ lagers. But, many in my family love them: american, german, mexican, etc. So, i’ve brewed some for them. I think mine taste better and the feed back I’ve received from family and friends support that too. I actually drink my yellow lagers but i never buy/drink the commercial ones because, well, their just not good IMO.

I also think my current red lager (ken lenard’s recipe) and my last black lager are also better than any commercial ‘red or black.’

My belgians are good,very good in fact, but not as good as the commercial. I’ve brewed them many times, and while each seems to be better than the last, their still not as good as their commercial counterparts. Finally, my stouts are a mixed bag…sometimes very good, other times, not so much.

My guess is other forum members can say the same regarding their brews…so again, maybe.

IMO, not a myth and not exactly true either.

Just my 2c.

:cheers:

[quote=“StormyBrew”]Can you? I think the right answer is “maybe.”