Calling All Water Experts

I’ve been doing all grain brewing for about two years now. But I just recently broke down and got a study of the Tate Aquifers completed by Ward Labs. This is ice-cold well water from my house in New Hampshire.

I was hoping that some water experts here might look at my water profile and offer any suggestions or warnings based on what they see. Thanks!

Here’s the important info:

pH 7.20

Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) Est, ppm 93
Cations/Anions, me/L 1.5 / 1.3

Sodium, Na 8
Potassium, K 3
Calcium, Ca 18
Magnesium, Mg 3
Total Hardness, CaCO3 58
Nitrate, NO3-N 0.4 (SAFE)
Sulfate, SO4-S 2
Chloride, Cl 8
Carbonate, CO3 <1
Bicarbonate, HCO3 53
Total Alkalinity, CaCO3 44
Total Phosphorus, P 0.27
Total Iron, Fe < 0.01

I am not an “expert” - But that looks like some pretty darn good water to me… Pretty soft overall. Seems you could use it “as is” with some relatively minor additions of CaCl2 and gypsum to bring up Calcium in all your beers, and then Cl levels higher in malty beers or Sulfate levels higher in hoppy beers.

Just a little alkalinity to deal with, otherwise this is almost Pilsen-quality water. Its a good place to start. Normal mineral additions of calcium chloride or gypsum are going to be typical. Adding alkalinity may be necessary for some brews or they will be too tart or acidic. Baking soda and lime are good alternatives for adding alkalinity when needed. I invite you to review the Water Knowledge page of the Bru’n Water website to help illustrate the things you should aim for with your brewing water.

That is great water. You can brew any style with that water. You are lucky.

Wow. Thanks for the good news, guys.

Martin, I just downloaded the Bru’n Water spreadsheet. Nice work. I’ll have to play around with it. Are there any resources available for “building” an appropriate water profile for a particular beer. For example, if I brew mostly hoppy IPAs, what kind of water should I aim to create?