Brewing another wheat beer

So I am brewing another wheat beer because after tasting my last one I ended up using WAY too much honey so I gave it the axe. Just though I would throw my new recipe out there and get everyones thoughts on it before I dive in since I am still new to brewing.

Grain:
Briess 2-Row Brewers Malt 7 lb
White Wheat Malt 4 lb
Carapils 8 oz (head retention)
Briess caramel 30L 8 oz (add orange tone)
Flaked wheat 8 oz (give the beer a nice haze)

Hops:
Hallertau 1 oz
Amarillo 1 oz
Citra .5 oz

Yeast:
Safale US-05

Added some notes on why I am using so many different grains, feel free to chime in and tell me if I am using them for the wrong reason.

THANKS EVERYONE!!!

Recipe is too complex and redundant.

The best wheat beers are made from Lager Malt and Wheat Malt or Flaked Wheat.

You don’t need carapils because the proteins in the wheat will help head retention (don’t do a protein rest unless you’re using undermodified malts).

Caramel malt should be added for residual sweetness and body (Dextrins) not for color.

Start with 50% pilsner and 50% wheat malt and when you taste that beer then determine if you would like to add a caramel malt or increase the percentage of a base malt.

No times for hop additions are given, but keep the bittering hops on the light side, wheat beers aren’t IPA’s.

Use Amarillo and Citra for flavor and aroma and Hallertau for bittering.

Maybe 60 min for the Hallertau and 10 mins and flameout for the Amarillo and Citra.

US-05 won’t let the wheat malt shine through, so if that’s what you’re after you’ll want to replace that yeast with a Hefeweizen yeast.

Unless it’s Lagunitas Little Sumpin Sumpin :wink:

[quote=“mattnaik”][quote=“jd14t”]
No times for hop additions are given, but keep the bittering hops on the light side, wheat beers aren’t IPA’s.
[/quote]

Unless it’s Lagunitas Little Sumpin Sumpin :wink: [/quote]