Blonde Ale Recipe Suggestions - 1 gallon batch

I’ve been doing some experimenting with small all grain batches. I came up with this recipe for my wife’s birthday based on some research/other recipes but I’m very new to creating my own ingredients list. I’m basically trying to create a very smooth (very low bitter) blonde summer ale that you can throw a wedge of fruit into. My wife likes the light lagers and a blue moon style.

Here’s what I have for a 1-gallon batch (I’m thinking of doing this BIAB):

Pale Malt (2-row) US (2.0 SRM) - 1 lb, 2.4 oz (79%)
Cara-Pils (2.0 SRM) - 2.2 oz (8.5%)
Vienna Malt (3.5 SRM) - 1.6 oz (6.3%)
White Wheat Malt (2.4 SRM) - 1.6 oz (6.3%)

Willlamette (5.5%) - 0.3 oz
Bitter Orange Peel - 0.2 oz

• Mash for 60 min (should this be 90?)
  • Boil Time 60 min
  • Add .1oz Williamette at 35 min, 20 min, and 5 min
  • Add Orange Peel at 5 min
  • Pitch with Nottingham

Any specific suggestions? Hops alternatives that keep the bitterness really low? I’m open to all constructive criticism. Thanks!

What IBU/OG is this coming up with? Perception of bitterness is one thing, and calculated is another.

I think a 60 minute mash is fine. Also, if you are going for citrusy, I would zest a whole orange/tangerine/tangelo/all of the above and use that at flameout.

If your wife likes witbier, why not just make one of those? The recipe Doc gives on The Brewing Network’s show on witbier is absolutely amazing, certainly far better than ShockMoon.

[quote=“Pietro”]What IBU/OG is this coming up with? Perception of bitterness is one thing, and calculated is another.

I think a 60 minute mash is fine. Also, if you are going for citrusy, I would zest a whole orange/tangerine/tangelo/all of the above and use that at flameout.

If your wife likes witbier, why not just make one of those? The recipe Doc gives on The Brewing Network’s show on witbier is absolutely amazing, certainly far better than ShockMoon.[/quote]