1st time brewer...1 gal. Small batch brew

I’m currently 1 day into the fermentation process of a 1 gallon batch of Irish red ale. I have the car boy in a dark area behind my bar in the basement and the yeast is working hard.

The ambient temp is reading around 57 degrees. Is that too cold? I dont know the fermentation temp right now because my fermometer is in the mail so I’m concerned about this. Should I move it to a warmer area in the room or should I leave it until the fermometer arrives? The spot that it’s in is the darkest/quietest area in the basement.

This is my first attempt at home brewing so an ad all advise is greatly appreciated

No pro here but from my experience that should be fine, it might just take a little longer to fully ferment so give it the full 3 weeks.

Typically the brew will be a little warmer by about 3-5 degrees, depending on the size, than the ambient temp.

Assuming you’re using the Nottingham yeast that comes with that kit, 57 degrees is right at the bottom of the recommended range, so no worries there. It’s probably a couple degrees warmer than ambient during active fermentation. Once the bubbling starts to slow, though, you could move it to a warmer area just to help keep the yeast from going dormant as quickly.

If you put an old sweatshirt or towel or something over the fermentor that will also keep the light out.

Yes I did use the Nottingham Yeast. I guess I’ll leave it where it is for now. I didn’t want to move because I was worried about disturbing the yeast and the fermentation process. I’m a patient guy so I can wait another week if needed.

Thanks

[quote=“DrunkinScotsman80”]Yes I did use the Nottingham Yeast. I guess I’ll leave it where it is for now. I didn’t want to move because I was worried about disturbing the yeast and the fermentation process. I’m a patient guy so I can wait another week if needed.

Thanks[/quote]

I thought I was a patient fellow until I started brewing though! Good luck with your brewing.