1 Step vs Star San

I’ve been brewing now for 4 years, and the only sanitizer I’ve ever used is 1 Step. This is primarily due to my local HBS here carried only that. Until recently. Now, he’s started carrying Star San, and I asked him if I should start using that, and he told me I should stay with the 1 Step, since it also cleans. Every You Tube video I’ve watched, the brewer uses Star San. Am I missing something? I’ve neer had an issue with any of my beers.

Paul

I use pbw for cleaning and star san for a sanitizer. Couldn’t be more happy with the two problems.

Never used 1step but can you leave it inside the fermentor and just drop your wort in with the foam (the much heard “don’t fear the foam”). To me that is the great thing abput Starsan. You can keep things sanitized and saoked with the stuff right up to the second you use it. Also I have relativly hard water and still this stuff lasts forever. I just pH test every time I go to use. It has yet to rise above the 2 range. Eventually my Starsan buckets get this fine sediment in the bottom and I rinse and dump that everytime I use it as well and can roll on with the rest of it. That one fact is a huge cost savings.

Barry

BTW I make my own PBW out of Oxiclean and TSP. Works like a charm and very cheap.

Barry, what is TSP?

TSP- trisodium phosphate.
http://www.acehardwareoutlet.com/productdetails.aspx?sku=12590

You will find it in the paint section of the hardware stores. Usually the container says “free” as they removed the phosphate to protect the environment.

I’ve seen mixes listed as 2 parts TSP/1 part Oxy, 1:1 and 1:2. IRRC the 2:1 was the 1st one noted on the net.

As far as 1 Step. Ask your HBS if they can get something from LD Carlson with and EPA or FDA stamp on it saying the product is a certified sanitizer. Possibly at one time the paid to have it tested and certified. But there is nothing out there now. In the mean time they may have changed the formula.