Yeast, Sugar & ABV%

I’m still very new to this but I have a question about sugar and yeast.

What happens if you double the amount of yeast for an extract kit? Will you get a higher ABV % since there would be more active yeast to create more ethanol?

Also would adding high sugar ingredients, like honey, at some point in my boil create a higher ABV % since there would be more sugars to for the yeast to eat?

What happens if I did both to a batch?

Thanks Everyone

Higher ABV is generally a function of the amount and type of fermentables (i.e., sugars) in the wort. When the yeast have consumed all available fermentables in the wort, they cease to create alcohol.

Adding more sugar would create higher ABV assuming you pitch a proper amount of yeast

You’re onto something here. If you have a wort with more fermentables, you need to pitch more viable yeast…not only to ensure it attenuates fully, but to ensure you don’t get off flavors from stressed yeast.

Edit: I’m oversimplifying, but this is the general idea. There are other factors that affect the outcome, such as fermentation temperature.

Okay so my immediate question then is, can too much yeast be bad and can having too much leftover sugars be bad?

Pitching too much yeast can lead to a blah beer because the yeast produce byproducts during reproduction that add character to the beer and if there’s more than enough yeast at the beginning of fermentation there won’t be much reproduction. But over-pitching is far better than under-pitching which can lead to your second situation - leaving unfermented sugars in the beer is rarely a good thing and if you don’t pitch enough yeast, don’t aerate the wort (if using a liquid yeast), prematurely rack the beer off the yeast, or cause a rapid cooling of the beer that stops the yeast early (these are just a few of the cases that can lead to under-attenuation) you can end up with a sweet, cloying beer.

+1 to Shadetree’s response.