Yeast Starter Kit every time? most of the time?

Hey everyone,

5 Gal extract brewer here, been brewing for about 2 years, maybe a batch every month or so, so I have some experience but still in the learning and growing mode.

To that point, I am slowly trying to expand my brewing skills and quality. One such thing I am debating is should I be looking to graduate to doing yeast starters? and if so, every time? Only for heavier beers? Is it not worth the effort for the more ‘basic’ kits that won’t need all the yeast?

I am not looking to spend $ on anything that I can, but I am willing to invest the $ and time if it is helps the quality even more so.

thoughts?

FYI - If I do, I am looking to get 2000 ML flask, skipping the 1000ML since many reviews say it was not quite large enough

My ROT is that every beer over 1.040 OG gets a starter of the approriate size. mrmalty.com, yeastcalc.com, and brewersfriend.com all are excellent calculators for figuring out how big to make it. My average starter size is 2-3 qt. I use a gal. glass jug rather than a flask.

I’m a little more sparing with my starters (or lazy, perhaps). I always use a starter if OG is expected to be over 1.060. But, I also oxygenate well with tanked O2 which helps get the yeast off to a good start, perhaps offsetting the need for a starter at lower OGs. (Ladies and gentlemen of the forum, is that a reasonable statement?)

The 1.055 OG blonde ale I brewed 2 weeks ago was ready to boil out of the carboy within 24 hours after pitching a single Wyeast smack-pack (after oxygenating) without a starter.

Now here’s a statement - I’ve always had very good luck with yeast. Yeast like me and my basement. My fermentations are generally strong and vigorous no matter what else I screw-up brewing. If you experience problems with your fermentation, adjust your personal brewing guidelines accordingly and make a starter more frequently.