Yeast Seems Inactive in a Caribou Slobber Brew

Hi All,

I’m new to homebrewing and after making my way around the forums I decided it would be highly beneficial for me to make an account and post my questions here.

My situation is like this: I got a one-gallon brew kit and a a Caribou Slobber recipe kit. The brew process, the sanitation, etc. all went wonderfully, but I think I may have hit a hitch with pitching the yeast. The recipe directions, which I now realize are vague and somewhat crude, called for pitching the dry yeast straight into the cooled wort, but the yeast (Windsor Danstar British Style) called for rehydrating the yeast prior to pitching it. Having dabbled in making bread before, I thought it would be best to rehydrate the yeast. I boiled a small amount of water, mixed it with a little bit of wort, let it cool for 5-10 minutes and then added the yeast. I mixed the yeast up in the rehydrating solution, let it sit for a few minutes, and then dumped it in with the wort.

24 hours later, I have seen NO activity whatsoever in my fermentor. From what I’ve read about this particular yeast and the brew recipe in general, this is the opposite of what’s supposed to happen (rapid, vigorous fermentation followed by little activity). I’m considering buying more yeast to pitch or scrapping the attempt entirely as I have my doubts over the overall sterility of the yeast mixture I added to the wort.

Unfortunately, I used my one-gallon kit right of the box which means that I don’t know the gravity of the wort or the temperatures of the wort or yeast starter. Before my next brew, I will definitely be buying a thermometer and a hydrometer.

Thanks in advance!