YAYST: Decant or not decant?

YET ANOTHER YEAST STARTER THREAD:

Decant or not decant?

I’m new to starters and will be using my first yeast starter on my next extract batch - an NB saison.

Much like the pro/con discussions of using a secondary fermenter - it seems split on whether to decant my starter or just dump the whole thing into my fresh wort.

Does decanting risk losing some of the viable yeast or will that have settled?
What are the cons of dumping the whole starter?

Thanks, folks…

Taste a little bit of the starter beer as you decant it off. It’s not very good. I think that is the main argument for decanting but if it is only a one liter starter it is still a very small quantity going into five gallons of beer. I tend to decant but if I’m running behind and it’s only a liter I’ll just dump it all.

IMO, a 1 L starter is too small to really do much good and could be detrimental by not having enough food for the yeast to be able to rebuild their glycogen reserves. I always decant the spent wort.

If I go 2L starter I’m assuming decant is the preferred approach?

I think the majority of people would say yes.

[quote=“BPBCo”]I think the majority of people would say yes.[/quote]I can’t imagine any reason that someone would recommend NOT decanting except for when using a yeast that doesn’t flocculate even when chilled in the fridge for a couple of days.

Ya me neither but just about every time I feel like that about something someone seems to chime in with an opposing view point…sometimes they even make sense :wink:

yeast starter wort tastes nasty I decant because I don’t wont that in my beer.

FWIW, I decant all of my starters.

I appreciate all the input - thanks.

While we’re on the subject of decanting I have a question:
Do you pour off all of the liquid - just leaving what I expect to be a yeast cake on the bottom of the flask? Or is it best to leave a bit of liquid starter wort?