WY 2124 and DA rest

Long story short, I decided to use WY 2124 for a California Common that I brewed yesterday (OG 1.048, simple all grain recipe) and then to use the resulting yeast cake to ferment a Maibock (still working on that recipe). I’m now fermenting the CC at 53F and it seems to be going fine now less than 24 hours after pitching (I’m new to lagers, have brewed all ales until I developed a way to ferment at lower temps, so I was a bit surprised that the fermentation started so quickly).

I plan to let the CC ferment and then do a DA rest. I’ve read that you don’t want to raise the temp more than 9 degrees, so I plan to raise the temp to 60 for 3 days.

After the DA rest, I think I’ll drop the temp to 50F, transfer the CC to a secondary to lager it and transfer the Maibock wort onto the yeast cake and ferment at about 50F.

Questions;

What would people recommend regarding when to start the DA rest?

Are three days sufficient for the rest?

How rapidly can I drop the temp from 60 to 50?

How long and at what temp should I lager the CC?

Do you need to reduce the temp gradually to lager temps (my garage should be around mid to upper 30s by then)?

Thanks for your help!

I’m about to do a Mai-Bock with a schedule that Denny uses. Drop temp to 46, then raise to 50 for 5 days. Then raise 5 deg. every 12 hrs. till 65 deg. then hold to finish. That will be your D-rest. When finished Cold-Crash at 35 or so for 2-3 wks.

You may not even need a d rest. Only about 10% of the lagers I brew need one.

OK, Denny, I’ll bite – what are the characteristics of the 10% that require a rest and why don’t the other 90%?