Wort 1 Stove 0. (Stove buying advice)

Good Morning, Let me start by staying I have been lurking for several months and have thoroughly enjoyed the forums. My wife and I started brewing about 6 months ago and have about 15 extract batches under our belts. Yesterday after we finished brewing the NB Chinook IPA our Ceramic Stove top cracked! So to make a long story short I am looking for advice on buying a stove from a brewers perspective. What works? What problems have you encountered? Our short term goals are to move up to a full 5 gallon boil and experiment with partial mash.

New stove will be gas.

I am looking at a stove similar this one http://www.whirlpoolappliances.ca/en/Pr … 81LVS.html.

It has a 15500 BTU “Power Burner” Does anyone have a sense of how many BTU’s is reasonable for a full 5-6 gallon boil? If I buy a 10 gallon pot can it handle that?

I’ve noticed that most ovens only go down to 170 degrees above the 164 recommended for a partial mash. (our old stove had the same limitation) is this pretty much universal? It seemed to be the case in the units we played with at our local appliance store

Oh yeah, we are not made of money. We are willing to pay for some upgrades but a grand is absolutely the most we are willing to spend. Unfortunately this is going to cut into our brewing equipment budget so whatever we end up with will more than likely be brewing on what ever we end up with for awhile

Thanks in advance!

I’m not sure if this is the tact that you had in mind, but heres my thoughts.

As you get more and more into brewing, the natural feeling for many is to improve on what methods you can most easily. One of the first steps new brewers take to improve their beer is to move to a full boil. This requires a big pot (7.5+ gal) and a burner that outclasses anything you’re going to get on a reasonable model stove (the burner I use can go 200,000+ BTU’s).