When to use a secondary fermenter?

I am new to brewing and have made a couple 1 gallon batches. I’d like to start making some 5 gallon batches. Most of the kits I have looked at for extract brewing state that a secondary fermenter is optional. When should I use a secondary fermenter on a 5 gallon extract kit? If I don’t use a secondary should I keep it in the primary longer? Thanks for the help.

I personally don’t secondary anymore because I keg. I leave in primary for around 3 weeks before transferring. There are other people here who very much stand by secondary fermentation.

:beers:
Rad

I’m pro ‘secondary.’ It’s truly not a secondary unless you are adding fermentables. I feel that if you transfer gently there’s enough dissolved CO2 to avoid O2 ingress. Plus, if you were really worried you could shoot CO2 in the vessel
The only time I don’t secondary are beers that are hazy- wheats, wit, NEIPA.
Of course it’s easy for me to say because I utilize conicals so it’s a quick dump.

1 Like

I have a lot of time on my hands lately and have been doing a secondary on most things… mainly because I’m bored… but also because I am confident with my process and no longer fear infection or oxidation at this stage. I find that I like the results and maybe it’s a touch clearer and there is a less yeast being transferred to my bottles.

1 Like

@squeegeethree my man! I tell my ‘story’ often. But here it is again:
When I first started doing 10gal batches I would have to use 2 carboys (which I hated and prompted me to get my first conical). Anyway, I would secondary. Except one time I was short a 5gal carboy as it was tied up. Therefore, I put one in secondary and left the other in primary. The one in secondary cleared much better and quicker. I took this opportunity to see what would happen with the keg. I marked them and noticed I had to pull off a lot more beer to get ‘clear’ beer and when opening them up there was a lot more sediment in that keg.