Wheat Beer Recipie

Wanting to do a Wheat Beer and thought I’d post this and see what you all think. I’m new to brewing and trying to try out hops and see what they do:

6 lbs Wheat Malt Extract

1 oz Liberty Hops @ 60 min

OG:  1.044
  IBU:  11

Oh and using Wyeast 1010

[quote=“FireMedic218”]Wanting to do a Wheat Beer and thought I’d post this and see what you all think. I’m new to brewing and trying to try out hops and see what they do:

6 lbs Wheat Malt Extract

1 oz Liberty Hops @ 60 min

OG:  1.044
  IBU:  11[/quote]

That should work, although at 11 IBUs you probably won’t taste the hops.

Looks fine, although I’d add a pound of sugar as well. Regular old table sugar will work fine for this. If you’ve read anything about “cidery” flavors, ignore this – it simply is not true. If you haven’t, then forget I mentioned it.

11 IBU is fine for this style. But add a little more if you feel like it. This will be a very refreshing wheat ale. Should only take 4-5 days to finish fermenting, and ready to bottle immediately – you do NOT need to transfer it to secondary unless you want it to clear a bit and have less haze and yeast solids, but this is totally optional for this style.

Let us know how it turned out in a couple weeks!

Sounds good I guess. You can start out subtle and adjust the recipe. Keep good notes and adjust until you are really happy with it. That’s how I do my recipes.

[quote=“dmtaylo2”]Looks fine, although I’d add a pound of sugar as well. Regular old table sugar will work fine for this. If you’ve read anything about “cidery” flavors, ignore this – it simply is not true. If you haven’t, then forget I mentioned it.