What went wrong? Dry Irish Stout

Good Morning!
I have been brewing for 5 years now and recently tried to make a Dry Irish Stout. It is the recipe kit from Northern Brewer. Some how the ABV was 6.4%. The final gravity estimate was 1.011 and mine was 1.004. The OG Est was 1.046 and mine was 1.050. The beer smelled almost like soy sauce and had a salty taste on the back end. It was awful. I ended up dumping 25 bottles because I could not drink it. Is it possible that I boiled at to high of a temp? I am trying to figure what a boil should look like because I am not sure what the problem could be beyond that. Any ideas? Thanks!

A few questions: Extract or AG? What was your volume of wort in the fermentor? Full boil or top off? How long did you ferment? What temperature did you ferment at? When you mention boiling at too high of a temp, was it a super vigorous boil or a mild constant boil? What kind of yeast? Did it taste off before you bottled it or only after?

:beers:
Rad

You could scorch the wort or some other ingredients but I don’t think that would give you a salty taste. If you have to ask if you boiled to hard probably a good chance you did.

I am doing all grain now. I don’t quite remember what the volume was in the fermentor. It was between 4.5 and 5, I have only had one beer go above 5. I do a full boil. The next question is where I have no good answer. What was a mild constant boil look like? I was looking around for a burner that had some kind of marks on the dial so I could find a decent spot for the boil and always know where t turn to get to it. The yeast was Safale 04. As for your last question I always try the beer in the cylinder after I do the FG measurement. I don’t remember the off taste there, I think I would. I keep it at 40 degrees in the fridge after conditioning is done.