What to do after Blowoff

Brewed a Belgian Dubbel using a T58 dry yeast. Got temp down to 70 , agitated and sprinkled dry yeast and swirled to mix. Had a massive blow off,actually blew airlock off within 8 hours, made a mess. Added a blowoff tube. The inside of the carboy is a mess. I had planned on leaving it in primary for 5-6 weeks and not going to secondary. After the mess, should I move to secondary after two weeks? More info - room was warm for the first night, over 75 degrees while the hotstove fire died out. Roomed cooled to the high 60s in the morning. I am a newbie so any advice is welcome. Thanks

I wouldn’t worry about how the inside of the carboy looks. More important is if there is a mess on the outside neck and lip of the carboy. I would try and make sure that is cleaned up well because of the possibility of anything contacting that “lip” later on when you go to insert your siphon to rack.

Using a secondary is usually personal preference, or sometimes in my case, laziness. While I usually prefer to use a secondary I think it is best for newer brewers to skip it until they have their racking technique down and then they can see if they prefer using one or not. Many people don’t use one.

It does sound like you might want to avoid starting your ferment at such a warm temp. While T-58 can be fermented pretty warm, I would try to start it out a bit slower and let it rise on its own rather than w/ the rising room temp. You’ll also have less blow-off issues that way.

Thanks, I did clean the neck (outside and inside) with sanitizer when I put on the blowoff tube. It has settled down so I will add the 3 piece back on and clean againm I was more concerned about the sticky mess inside the glass attracting bacteria over 3-4 weeks.