Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

What Goes Best with Fish and Venison

I am a newbie and just brewed my first batch. Like most newbies, I made the mistake of not watching my fermentation temperature. I am also sure that I will make additional mistakes as I learn.

My hobbies include saltwater fishing (salmon, cod, rockfish, sea trout, etc.) and bow hunting for deer.
I would like to know what brews (beer and wine) that readers would recommend to serve with my fish, etc.

Prime time is approaching and I want to learn, brew, and stock up so I can enjoy the upcoming season, even more so.

Thanks in advance. :blah:

I am kindered spirit my friend. Good luck this season!

Red Meat: You typically want a beer with some rich maltiness/dark malts/melanoidins. My favorites are any porter (relatively easy/quick to make), british pale ales of any strength, American browns, ambers…

however the rich flavors of venison go best IMO with traditional bock, doppelbock (do yourself a favor and have a Celebrator with one of the backstraps, pan seared!), weizenbock, munich dunkel, maybe even dunkelweizens. Frankly, I also think some of the darker belgian trappist beers go great with most game meats. Particularly dubbels, BDSA’s, belgian pale ales (such as Palm or Fat Tire). Oh and by the way, don’t even think about NOT using the beer to deglaze the pan and make a reduction with the venison juices and some dried fruits (figs, apricots, cherries, cranberries, etc.)!

Sours are even better with venison, but that will have to wait until next season!

Salmon: Depending on how its prepared, you likely want something with a lot of wheat, not a lot of melanoidin/dark malt. American blond ale, but more likely hefeweizens, wits, belgian blonde, tripel, BGSA. I am partial to wits with salmon, poached in the witbier with some onions, salt, pepper, lemon, garlic.