Waiting.... always better?

Hi, all. I’m new to this – on my second batch now, but I have the feeling I’m hooked…

One question I have from reading different forum posts.
I’ve read a lot of comments about waiting and being patient.

Is that a general rule of thumb? I’m in NO hurry to drink the beer I brew. There are decent beers to buy in Milwaukee. :smiley:

So my question is…
If a recipe says to wait 2-4 weeks in secondary, should I just go ahead and assume wait for 4 weeks?
Would it be better to wait, say, 10 weeks in secondary?

If I can bottle condition for 3 weeks, is that better than 1-2weeks?

I know the answer here is probably to use a hydrometer, but I don’t have that and I’m not sure I’m going that way.

What’s your general advice?
Is waiting always better?

Examples:
Red Ale
American Amber Ale
Rye Porter

Thanks!

[quote=“masquelle”]Hi, all. I’m new to this – on my second batch now, but I have the feeling I’m hooked…

One question I have from reading different forum posts.
I’ve read a lot of comments about waiting and being patient.

Is that a general rule of thumb? I’m in NO hurry to drink the beer I brew. There are decent beers to buy in Milwaukee. :smiley:

So my question is…
If a recipe says to wait 2-4 weeks in secondary, should I just go ahead and assume wait for 4 weeks?
Would it be better to wait, say, 10 weeks in secondary?

If I can bottle condition for 3 weeks, is that better than 1-2weeks?

I know the answer here is probably to use a hydrometer, but I don’t have that and I’m not sure I’m going that way.

What’s your general advice?
Is waiting always better?

Examples:
Red Ale
American Amber Ale
Rye Porter

Thanks![/quote]

I’ve brewed a handful of batches so far, and if it answers your question at all, the last bottle of every batch has been the best of the batch. So yes, waiting is good…