W-34/70 Temp

I have a batch of helles in the garage in a freezer set to 54F. which is what fermentis says is Ideal. After 1 week this cold snap dropped it to 46F. briefly. I put hot water containers in the freezer to raise it to 54 again. Think this brief drop will hurt?

Colder is even better. I would have left it at 46 F. It will be fine either way.

You obviously have experience with this yeast. At what temp do you pitch it and what temp do you ferment it at?

I’ve done a couple batches of Oktoberfest, a doppelbock and a pils with Fermentis 34/70, all of them fermented in the 50-52F range. I was really happy with everything but the pils, which I felt was just not clean or crisp enough (fermentation temp is only one variable that may have contributed to that, of course).

For a helles I wouldn’t want to ferment higher than 52F, but I’ve never done it before so that’s just a product of my experience and “if it’s not broke, don’t fix it” mentality :slight_smile: .

FYI, the yeast has worked really well in that range for me. I just took a FG reading today on a batch of Marzen and I got about 80% apparent attenuation according to Sean Terrill’s FG calculations, which I have a lot of confidence in.

http://seanterrill.com/2010/07/20/towar ... rrelation/

Coldest I can get is about 50 F so that’s where I ferment it. If I could get 47 F, I would start it there then let it warm to roughly 52-53 F towards the middle of fermentation and perhaps finish off in the 60s for a diacetyl rest if needed.

I’ve had 34/70 at 46F and it chugged along to finish below 1.010 even. I reuse it a few times and each re-pitch seems to be stronger than the last. I think I re-pitched one single packet something like 15-20 times. Great dry lager yeast from Wehenstephan.

:cheers: