Vodka Tincture For Specialty Grains, et al

After brewing a Brewer’s Best, Smoked Porter Extract Kit that was WAY too smokey, I was advised to make a tincture of Vodka and any specialty grains (when required) for future batches. This tincture is to be added directly to the boil. The thinking, as it was explained to me, is that it will extract the flavors of the grains, yet, somehow, minimize their intensity.

I am relatively new to brewing (seven extract kits, five gallon batches) so I have a few questions:

1.) How does soaking in straight vodka reduce the intensity of the flavors?
2.) Do the other flavors in the vodka come into play?
3.) How much vodka should I use (for a 5 gallon batch)?
4.) How long should I steep the grains before adding the tincture to the boil?
5.) Does the alcohol boil off completely during the course of the typical 60 minutes?

One concern I have about this one-size-fits-all approach, is that I’ve done other batches with specialty grains (specifically, NB’s “The Inn Keeper”) where I steeped the grains in water prior to the boil, as per the instructions, and it turned out awesome. I’d’ve hated to reduce any of the flavor in that particular case.

Is this a method anyone has ever heard of or, better yet, used?

I haven’t read every post about vodka tinctures, so if there’re some out there that answer my questions, please feel free to point me in the right direction.

Oh, and I’m about to brew up a 5 gallon batch of NB’s cream ale, which has some specialty grains in it, so any tips (regarding specialty grains or just in general) would be much appreciated.

Thanks!