Vanilla Cream Ale

Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to brewing so please excuse the noob questions. I want to brew a vanilla cream ale and after searching through post here I found a couple of options but just wanted to make sure I was doing it right because all the recipes have slight changes to them.

I would like to use the cream ale kit from NB and then it looks like I just place two vanilla beans in the secondary for a week. Is it as easy as that? In one post someone indicated that they soak one bean in 2 cups of vanilla vodka…that sounded interesting.

thanks for the help.

Split the beans and scrape out the good stuff. Throw beans and the scrapings in secondary. Some say you should soak in vodka first. I feel it’s not necessary but it’s subjective…

Awesome, thanks for that! Do they just sit in there for 5 days or does it matter how long? Also, is the NB cream ale kit a good kit to add the vanilla beans?

Thanks again

I’ve never used the NB cream ale kit, bit their spotted cow clone is a good cream ale that you could use for a base.

As far as vanilla goes, follow the instructions above. After 5 days, and every couple days thereafter take a small sample with a thief until you get the vanilla level you want. The longer its okn the beans the more flavor they leave, alternately the vanilla will fade from the bottles in over time, so its really a balancing act for the flavor.

Thanks for the info. I am a little nervous to try the partial mash…I’ve only brewed 6 batches. But, I’ve been wanting to try so maybe this will give the push I need!

Thanks again