Using specialty grains

I have been brewing beer for about 2 years now and I have only been using recipes that used only extract (DME) because that is what I was taught. Last fall I tried to brew a beer that called for some specialty grains and I followed the instructions but the beer ended up tasting a little off. One of my friends said that I might have gotten some of the excess flavors from the specialty grains when I had taken them out of the pot. That could be true because I wasn’t sure about what to do with them. At one point I took the bag of grains out and was letting them drip back into the pot. The end result was that the beer didn’t taste right.

My wife gave me a, as a birthday gift, a prepackaged beer recipe. The first part of the process is to cook the specialty grans for a half an hour to get the sugars out of it. I don’t want to mess this one up so I need to know more about how to deal with the grains. I know that I need to put them into the bag that came with the kit. I get the water to the correct temperature and then let the grain soak in the water. When it is time to take the grain out what should I do with it? Do I just let it sit in a strainer while the last of the water drips out? I have heard that some people will use their grain bags like a tea bag and dip it in and out of the pot to make sure that all the sugar is released. I have also head that you can pour water over the grain bag while it is in the strainer over the pot. Are these good things to do?

I am planning on brewing another batch of beer this weekend and would like to know if I am doing things correctly.

Thanks for any help you can give me.