Using Flaked Maize/Corn

I’ve got an ESB on deck where I’ll be using around 1/2 pound of flaked maize/corn in the recipe. I’ve never used it before so I was wondering what everyone’s experience was with it and if I should just steep it as I would other steeping grains. Thanks in advance for all the help.

I make a recipe which uses quite a lot of Flaked Maize pretty regularly - you don’t need to do anything special with it (don’t crush it though). With only 1/2 pound, I wouldn’t worry about adding extra rice hulls either.

Well, just steeping it is going to give you a bunch of starch, unless you’re using pre-converted flakes. You’d probably want an enzyme source. Even a pound of malted barley/wheat/etc would be more than sufficient.

+1 Corn must be mashed with an enzyme source.

This is the recipe I’m planning on using for my ESB:

5 gallon batch / 2.5 gallon boil

6 lbs 10 oz Light/Pale Liquid Malt Extract
1 lbs Crystal 20L
.5 lbs Crystal 120L
.5 lbs Flaked Corn
1 oz black patent malt

60 min - 1.5 oz Target pellets
15 min - .5 Target pellets
5 min - .5 oz East Kent Goldings pellets
1 min - .5 oz East Kent Goldings pellets

Wyeast London ESB Ale (1968)

OG = 1.059
Est. FG = 1.018
5.5% ABV
Color = 15° SRM
Bitterness = 41.4 IBU

I got the flaked maize/corn from my local home brew shop and the website doesn’t say whether or not it’s pre-converted. Based on my recipe, would I need an enzyme source to break down the starches created from steeping the flaked maize/corn? If so, what should I use?

I’d probably add a pound of 2-row pale malt or half pound of 6-row malt. :cheers:

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh - I get ithe difference - my recipe is an all-grain recipe and the corn is mashed right with the rest of the grain bill

Just steep, you’ll get some body, some corny flavor ad a little color. The amount of starch will be minimal and some/most of it will drop out in the trub.

For the record it would usually be mashed with some malt that has enough enzymes to convert the starch.