Trying a new recipe - got a couple of questions

One of our favorite summer beers is “Hell or High Watermelon”. Nice light session beer with the taste of watermelon.

I’m an emerging rookie brewer, having done 9 extract kits with good success.

The recipe i’m looking at says to brew as normal (5 gal batch), pitch yeast and into primary. Transfer to secondary after a couple of weeks. Steep watermelon chunks in 150 water for 20 minutes and add to the secondary. Continue in secondary for several more weeks.

So here’s my question: I anticipate i will add about 1/2 gal of watermelon plus about 1 gal of water to the secondary. Can i ferment 3.5 gals of wort in primary and then later add the watermelon and water bringing the total volume to 5 gal?

I appreciate your comments!

Yes, you can do that. Concentrated fermentation is something some commercial brewers do. It is suppose to give a better malt profile for low-alcohol beers than you would get by fermenting at full volume, but I suspect the real reason is it allows them to process more beer than would otherwise fit in their tanks per batch.

Does the kit instructions specify adding watermelon to the brew, or is that something you are adding on your own? If the first, then the kit maker probably already calculated the water and sugar that the fruit would add to the brew, and has taken that into account in the instructions.

If you want to ferment a concentrated wort in the primary, make sure you pitch the right amount of yeast for the concentrated OG and volume. High sugar concentration can be stressful for the yeast, so be prepared.

I don’t know how much sugar watermelon contains, but it is probably enough to kick off some additional yeast activity, so make sure you let that finish before bottling.

Here’s the Hell or High Watermelon recipe I use (which ironically I will be adding the watermelon tonight.) I froze the watermelon and will thaw and then add.

http://outofkey.com/beer/brewing/waterm ... at-recipe/