Trellis for hops- ideas?

I have been growing cascade hops for the last three years or so. Last year I used a relatively short garden trellis which quickly became overgrown and a little too bushy. I’ve seen commercial video footage of long long wires used to grow their hops. What are other backyard garden types doing to deal with this issue. I though about doing an up and over and down type trellis, but I would imagine the hops with want to just grow upward. Suggestions?..

I use a couple of treated landscape poles that I have extended to 17’ by scarphing an 8’ and 10’ pole together. I put a 6" piece of dowel through the top to hold twine for the hops to grow up.
Also know several people who use 4x4 timbers with a hinge at the bottom to allow access to the top for harvesting.

I’ve got mine rigged so mine lines go up from where the plants are to a cross wire and then back down to the ground several feet away from the plant with extra line coiled up at a second anchor point. As a bine gets close to reaching the top cross wire, I pay out more line and lower the plant side. The plant just keeps going up. When I want to harvest, I pay out more line to lower the plant to where I can pick it on the ground. I scored some very tall fiberglass flag poles so I’ve got my cross wire at 15-20 feet up. Works well.

Chinaski, how did you secure the pole(s) in then ground?. Cement? do you have a picture of this setup?..What type of string/wire do you use? I like the idea of just lowering the string as it grows up. does the bine pile up on the ground much? Thanks…

I put two concrete footings into the ground but used metal stove pipe to create space inside the footings so I can pull the pole up if I need to. These fiberglass poles are really really light- less than 35 lbs but 25 feet long. I bought some wire from a rigging supply and nylon cord from another vendor. I’d have to search around to find the details- which I can do & attempt to post a photo when I have time.