Thinking of trying some mead

Hey everyone. I’ve been brewing beer for a few months and was thinking of trying mead after watching the Brewing TV ep about it. The trouble is I have no idea what it tastes like, so I’m a little hesitant to make a 3 or 5 gal batch only to discover I don’t. Are there any 1 gallon kits or good 1 gallon recipes out there?

Also are there any commercial examples I could possibly try to get an idea of what it tastes like?

Thanks for any info

Mead is very easy to make, and very delicious. Tastes like you think it would taste – tastes like honey! For a simple recipe, I like to dissolve 7 pounds honey in enough water to bring up to 3 gallons, heat it on the stove to about 170 F for about 15 minutes, then cool it and throw in some Wyeast 4184 Sweet Mead yeast. Fermentation at room temperature will take roughly 4 to 6 weeks – it is slower to ferment than beer. And that’s about all there is to it. You can carbonate it, or traditionally it is consumed uncarbonated, like a wine. You can drink it straight out of the fermenter, and it is delicious just like that. I remember the last batch I made, most of it was gone by the time I got around to bottling the rest of it. Yet it will keep in your bottles for 10 years or longer – gets better with age. Go for it. Very easy to make, and very delicious.

As far as commercial examples, there are a few to choose from, but you might need to search around at specialty liquor stores and world markets to find them. White Winter, B Nektar, and Chaucer’s are a few that come to mind offhand. In the past I was never all that impressed with commercial examples, but in recent years I think they have improved significantly. I think the best mead you will ever have is the mead made at home. See for yourself!